Skip to content

45 Seconds in Joplin, MO

May 28, 2011

My name is Dr. Kevin Kikta, and I was one of two emergency room doctors who were on duty at St. John’s Regional Medical Center in Joplin, MO on Sunday, May 22, 2011. You never know that it will be the most important day of your life until the day is over. The day started like any other day for me: waking up, eating, going to the gym, showering, and going to my 4:00 pm ER shift. As I drove to the hospital I mentally prepared for my shift as I always do, but nothing could ever have prepared me for what was going to happen on this shift. Things were normal for the first hour and half. At approximately 5:30 pm we received a warning that a tornado had been spotted.

When heroes emerge is when their mettle is tested…

More here.

One Comment
  1. Gadget permalink
    May 29, 2011 6:19 pm

    I thought this was the perfect cartoon for this situation.

Comments are closed.

