Skip to content

Officially done with Facebook….

May 27, 2011

I’m done with Facebook. It’s a time sucker and its only redeemable value was its ease in reconnecting with old friends and acquaintances. Ok, I also enjoyed the ease of which I could post something, a news article or video or whatever, and put my two cents in.

I do not like, however, how big Facebook has grown, nor how it puts forth so much information onto the internet. I do not like what I have seen out of the corporate office of Facebook or its support of big government politicians. They’re obviously free to do so, and I am equally free to discontinue using their product. And ofcourse, there are the privacy concerns as well on Facebook.

So instead I will focus my efforts here instead. I’ve deactivated by FB page, and the only reason I haven’t completely deleted it is because of my friends list, which I will probably go through and give my contact information to people who, for whatever reason, would like to get in touch with me at a later date.

So here comes the Summer of Recovery for my internet usage and to put my thoughts here instead.

8 Comments
  1. Michael Eaton permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:56 am

    I was starting to wonder if it was something I said… Now I see that because Facebook is among the top “10,000 political givers” (with that stipulation, I think I might be too) and most to Dems (as most young, high tech industries are), and that chases Craig away…

    Seriously, though, I understand your privacy issues, but I’m still sticking with it. I’ll check out your stuff here, too. Someone has to break through the echo, at least, to soothe my conscience…

  2. May 27, 2011 11:29 am

    You know where to find me. Stop by often. Something you’d like me to add as a post. Let me know.

    I’m also going to stop using Gmail. I find the way they “read” your emails to then give you targeted ads based on the email content, despite their assurances that nothing is recorded, a little too much for my tastes as well.

  3. Michael Eaton permalink
    May 29, 2011 1:05 pm

    Saw this posted. At the Jefferson Memorial, no less:

  4. May 29, 2011 10:25 pm

    Meh, it’s Code Pink being Code Pink and hoping to cause a scene and scream about brutality. The question I have is were they causing a disturbance at the memorial by their actions. if not, then why say they are “protesting” by simply “dancing”…

    • texan2driver permalink
      May 30, 2011 6:27 pm

      I never heard the officer say what they were being charged with. If you’re being arrested, don’t you have a right to know what you’re being charged with as opposed to just being told “you’ll find out?

      • May 31, 2011 7:57 am

        “A group of people in Washington, D.C., protesting a recent court decision that says expressive dancing is the same as picketing and marching, were arrested for just that — dancing, MyFoxDC reports.

        A dance-in at the Jefferson Memorial led to five arrests and a violent clash with U.S. Park Police. The incident was posted on YouTube and appears to show officers using force to push the arrestees to the ground.

        MyFoxDC reports that a spokesman for Park Police says the agency is investigating complaints officers overreacted.

        Despite the court ban on dancing in certain areas of national monuments, the protestors say they plan to be back next Saturday at noon.”

        And there is your answer. Code Pinkos challenging a court order and HOPING AND PRAYING that they could get another feather in their cap by getting arrested, and if they could get a video of some “police brutality, all the better…

        If they are creating a disturbance at the Jefferson Memorial, without gaining approval to “protest” there, then they get arrested, especially after a court order stating such. Adam Kokesh got “body-slammed” because he was resisting arrest and the officer.

        http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/05/29/people-arrested-dc-dancing-monument/?test=latestnews

  5. Michael Eaton permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:38 am

    So, Craig, if a group “Code Pinko” as you call it, thinks that a law is wrong, and protests that, they are being provocative?? What is it that Jefferson said? “If a law is unjust, a man is not only right to disobey it, he is obligated to do so.” Seems they not only chose the right way (dancing – oh, the humanity!), but the right location (Jefferson Memorial). Did you not see any overreach by the Park Police there? The one couple was hugging, kissing and gently swaying… that is a protest?? Come on, Craig, get past who they are, and look at what they were doing. Let your inner libertarian out…

    • May 31, 2011 10:11 am

      Mike,

      Please don’t confuse libertarianism with advocating anarchy. I have no problem protecting the 1st amendment rights of the Code Pinkos to protest, like they did in front of the U.S. Marine recruiting station in Berkley.

      Yet, Code Pink and Adam Kokesh set out to do exactly what happened, which was to cause a scene and disrupt.

      “The one couple was hugging, kissing and gently swaying… that is a protest??”

      Yes. Which is the point of them DOING it to begin with. Whether it is a no joke protest with loud speakers, a “sit-in”, which I’m pretty sure you’ve got to get a permit to do so, especially in a monument, or the now illegal “dance-in”, the point was to get attention for their cause. And in the course of “getting their attention”, they caused a scene at the memorial, disrupting the good order there. The result was their arrest and removal. Kokesh resisted the officer, and the amount of force used was appropriate for the situation (Kokesh is not a little fella, and he wasn’t going to stop and be detained willingly). Notice that Medea Benjamin wasn’t body slammed, because she didn’t resist requiring force.

      Your Jefferson quote… there is no source for it. It has the air of this:

      “Dissent is the highest form of patriotism”, used widely during the anti-Iraq war protests, etc. etc. and applying Jefferson’s name to it.

      Let me know if you do find the source for this quote….

Comments are closed.

